(301) 791-3132
34 South Potomac Street, Suite 100, Hagerstown, MD 21740
Tues-Fri: 11am-5pm   Sat: 10am -4pm or by Appt   Sun-Mon: closed

Staff and Board of Directors


Executive Director   Gallery Manager  
Mary Anne Burke
Mary Anne Burke
Executive Director
(301) 791-3132 x300 (work)

Chris Brewer
Chris Brewer
Gallery Manager
301-791-3132 x302 (work)
301-991-6646 (cell)


Board of Directors

President   Vice President  
James G. Pierné
James G. Pierné
Instructor, Business Management
Hagerstown Community College
11400 Robinwood Drive
Hagerstown, MD 21742
240-500-2215 (work)
301-797-1329 (home)
240-310-8421 (cell)
Arthur Schneider
Arthur Schneider, President
The Law Office of Arthur Schneider P.C.
29 West Franklin St
Hagerstown, MD 21740
(240) 527-6406 (work)
Secretary   Treasurer  
Kathleen A. Maher, AICP
Kathleen A. Maher, AICP
Planning & Code
Administration Department
One E. Franklin Street, Suite 300
Hagerstown, MD 21740
(301) 739-8577, ext. 140 (work)
Stephen Hummel
Stephen Hummel
1029 Potomac Ave.
Hagerstown, MD 21742
301-988-0947 (cell)
301-714-1533 (home)
Member   Member  
Denise Hunt
Denise Hunt
Assistant Principal
Washington County Public Schools (BISFA)
13617 Cambridge Drive (home), Hagerstown, MD 21740
240-217-2032 (cell)
Dr. Ira S. Lourie
Ira S. Lourie, M.D.
Child Psychiatrist
18719 Dover Drive
Hagerstown, MD 21742
Immediate Past President   Member  
Gaye McGovern
  Gaye McGovern, President
Gaye McGovern
Insurance Agency, Inc.
11373 Robinwood Drive
Hagerstown, MD 21742
(301) 790-1462 (work)
Jim Miller
  James Miller
Planet Technologies
16634 Virginia Avenue
Williamsport, MD 21795
301- 491-3426
Development Committee Chair   Member  
Kathy Stevens
Kathy Stevens
Client Relationship Manager
Middletown Valley Bank
1101 Professional Court
Hagerstown, MD 21740
(301) 800-7950
Matthew Wilson
Matthew Wilson
Visual Art Curriculum Specialist
Washington County Public Schools
10435 Downsville Pike
Hagerstown, MD 21740
301-766-8796 (work)
Margaret Yaukey
  Margaret Yaukey
Visual Arts Coordinator, English & Humanities Division, Hagerstown Community College
11400 Robinwood Drive
Hagerstown, MD 21742
(240) 500-2000

Supported in part by:

The Washington County Arts Council, Inc. is funded by an operating grant from the Maryland State Arts Council, (MSAC), an agency dedicated to cultivating a vibrant cultural community where the arts thrive. An agency of the Department of Business & Economic Development, the MSAC provides financial support and technical assistance to nonprofit organizations, units of government, colleges and universities for arts activities. Funding for the MSAC is also provided by the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency, which believes that a great nation deserves great art. Additional funding is also provided by Washington County Government and generous businesses, organizations and individuals.

The Washington County Arts Council is a proud member of County Arts Agencies of Maryland, Maryland Citizens for the Arts and Americans for the Arts.